18th Teddy Award 2004: The winners! - Aviva - Berlin Online Magazin und Informationsportal für Frauen aviva-berlin.de Kultur
AVIVA-Berlin .

AVIVA-Berlin > Kultur AVIVA-Newsletter bestellen
AVIVA-Berlin auf Facebook AVIVA-Berlin auf twitter
   Aviva - Home
   Veranstaltungen in Berlin
   Women + Work
   Public Affairs
   Kultur live
   Veranstaltungen in Berlin
   Jüdisches Leben
   About us

Happy Birthday AVIVA

AVIVA wishes you a happy and peaceful New Year 2019


AVIVA-BERLIN.de im Mai 2019 - Beitrag vom 18.02.2004

18th Teddy Award 2004: The winners!
Jennifer Gallagher

Emotion! Art! Action in high heels! Who did the jury choose? Interviews with Angela Robinson (Siegessäule Reader`s Prize), Maria Trénor (Best Short Film) and performer Ochy Curiel

If you still aren`t quite sure what the Teddy Award is, let me quickly explain. Films with a gay, lesbian or transgender content that are screened at the Berlinale Film festival are also entered for an award all of their own - The Teddy Award. This year it was held at the Tempodrom. The Gala - hosted by Maren Kroymann und Thomas Hermanns - was certainly the most glamorous award ceremony in the history of the Teddy Award so far, with performances by Gayle Tufts, The Swing dance Orchestra, Lutz and Moritz, The Croonettes, Ochy Curiel and a special guest appearance by Gitte Haenning.

At this year`s 18th Teddy Awards, 2.069 minutes of film with a gay, lesbian or transgender content were judged by nine members of an international jury who are either gay and lesbian film makers or organizers of queer film festivals. The jury were: Ido Abram (Netherlands), Suzy Capo (Brazil), Zvonimir Dobrovic (Croatia), Lan Hirche (Germany), Matthew Fox (United Kingdom), Dario López (Spain) · Natasha Mendonca (India) · Philippe Reilhac (France) · Kirsten Schaffer (USA).

The winning film in each category - Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Film and Best Short Film - receives a Teddy Award and a cash award of 3,000 Euro. This year the three cash awards were donated by sponsors of the Berlin gay and lesbian community, elledorado e.V. and Haarwerkstatt Berlin.

And may I have the envelope please?

The Teddy for the Best Feature Film goes to:

Wild Side
by Sébastien Lifshitz, France

Best Short Film 2004:

¿Con qué la lavaré?
by Maria Trénor, Spain

The Teddy for Best Documentary Film 2004, goes to:

The Nomi Song
by Andrew Horn, Germany

The Special Teddy 2004 awarded by the Teddy Foundation goes to:

Edition Salzgeber
The Teddy Foundation wishes to recognise the outstanding work of this film distribution company and its founder.

And of course, last but not least, Siegessäule - Berlin`s queer magazine - awards the Reader`s Prize with a cash award of 1,000 Euro. This jury comprises seven readers which view films from all sections of the festival dealing with queer topics.

Members of the jury:
Zora Hesová, Dörte Heßler, Alexander Katt, Michael Koch, Monique van Miert, Adam Miszta, Armin Stein

This year`s Siegessäule Reader`s Jury awards its prize to:

by Angela Robinson, USA

Read our interviews with Ochy Curiel, Maria Trénor and Angela Robinson.
For more on the history of the Teddy Award, in German and English, go to:

Kultur Beitrag vom 18.02.2004 Jennifer Gallagher 

  © AVIVA-Berlin 2019 
zum Seitenanfang suche sitemap impressum datenschutz home Seite weiterempfehlenSeite drucken